During a stroke play competition, if a player hits from the wrong teeing ground and corrects the mistake, what is the ruling?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

In stroke play, hitting from the wrong teeing ground is considered a breach of the rules. However, if the player recognizes the error before making their next stroke, they can take the necessary steps to correct the mistake without incurring penalties, provided they follow the correct procedures.

The right answer is tied to the actions taken after realizing the error. If the player had already completed the hole using the incorrect teeing ground and did not correct their mistake, they would incur a general penalty of two strokes, which would be added to their score for the hole. This penalty reflects the importance of adhering to the rules regarding teeing areas in order to maintain fair play.

Notably, while players can fix certain errors without penalty, the act of hitting from a wrong tee initially incurs consequences if not rectified before the next stroke is made. In this context, the answer best captures the regulatory framework of stroke play competitions and reinforces the need for players to be diligent regarding their teeing ground.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy