If a player's ball comes to rest against a rake and rolls into an adjacent bunker when the rake is removed, what should be done?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

When a player's ball comes to rest against a rake and then rolls into an adjacent bunker upon the removal of the rake, the appropriate action is to replace the ball without incurring any penalty. According to the rules of golf, specifically the regulations surrounding loose impediments, the rake is considered a movable obstruction. If the obstruction interferes with the conditions around the ball, the player is allowed to remove it.

Since the ball was affected by the rake's removal, it is treated as having been moved by an outside influence rather than the player's action. Therefore, the player should replace the ball to its original position, which is on the edge of the rake, before it rolled into the bunker. This ruling is designed to ensure fairness to the player by preventing unintended consequences from the removal of an obstruction that was originally affecting the ball's resting position.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy