In match play, can a concession of a stroke be withdrawn if the player misunderstood the number of strokes taken?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

In match play, once a concession is made, it is considered final and cannot be withdrawn. This rule is grounded in the principle of sportsmanship that underlies match play, where players are expected to honor each other's concessions. Therefore, if a player mistakenly concedes a stroke due to misunderstanding the number of strokes taken, they are still bound by that concession, and it cannot be retracted. This reinforces the idea that once a concession is communicated, it is an act of good faith and should not be reconsidered, ensuring a smooth flow of the match and maintaining the integrity of the competition.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy