Is a ball at rest in a penalty area considered a ball in play?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

A ball at rest in a penalty area is considered a ball in play because the rules define a ball in play as one that is not in a condition that prevents it from being played. According to the rules of golf, a ball that is in a penalty area is still in play, and the player has the option to play it as it lies or make a free or penalty stroke based on the conditions surrounding it.

While there might be rules surrounding how to play the ball from a penalty area, the fundamental aspect is that the ball remains in play unless the player chooses to take relief or otherwise moves it in a way that invokes different rules (like lifting it under penalty). This is an important distinction because it affects the strategy and options available to a player during play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy