On the teeing ground, a player asks an opponent about a bunker on the left side of the fairway. What is the ruling if the opponent responds affirmatively?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

When a player on the teeing ground seeks information about a specific area of the course, such as a bunker, and an opponent responds affirmatively, it raises important considerations under the rules of golf. Particularly, the act of giving advice is restricted in match play.

If a player receives information or advice about the condition of the course from their opponent—especially concerning hazards like bunkers or where they might play—the player providing that information would be in breach of the rules regarding advice. This breach typically results in a general penalty, which is two strokes in stroke play, and for match play, the penalty may escalate to the loss of the hole.

Thus, if a player inquires about a bunker and receives an affirmative response, the resulting penalty for the opponent who provided that information encompasses both the general penalty in stroke play and the loss of the hole in match play. This is why the chosen answer reflects the significance of adhering to the rules regarding advice and information during play, thereby resulting in consequences for the opponent who responded.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy