What is the ruling if a player uses two caddies during a round?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

In the context of golf rules, using more than one caddie during a round is a violation that results in disqualification. The rules of golf clearly state that a player is permitted to have only one caddie at any given time while playing in an authorized round. This measure is in place to ensure fair play and consistency during the game, as having multiple caddies could lead to an unfair advantage in terms of advice, assistance, or information about the course. Thus, if a player were to employ two caddies during a round, it would breach this fundamental rule, leading directly to disqualification from the event.

The other options do not accurately reflect the consequences set out in the rules. For instance, allowing one caddie at a time is the guideline, but utilizing two breaches that rule outright. A penalty could also indicate a less severe consequence, which does not align with the established ruling for this specific violation. Lastly, suggesting no penalty could mislead one into thinking that the action is permissible, which counters the integrity of the rules governing the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy