What is the ruling when a player's ball lands in a bunker with temporary water and they drop outside the bunker?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

The ruling when a player's ball lands in a bunker with temporary water requires understanding the specific rules regarding relief in this situation. According to the rules of golf, if a player's ball is in a bunker and there is temporary water present, the player is permitted to take relief. However, when the player opts to drop the ball outside the bunker to avoid the condition, it incurs a one-stroke penalty.

Taking relief from a bunker is generally allowed, but the rules dictate that doing so by dropping outside the bunker results in a penalty. This is to ensure that players are encouraged to play from the bunker, maintaining the integrity of the challenge that bunkers present. Therefore, opting to drop outside incurs a one-stroke penalty, which is consistent with the rules for relief from hazards.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy