What should a player do if their ball lies in a bunker and there is temporary water?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

When a player’s ball lies in a bunker with temporary water present, the appropriate action is to take a free drop outside the bunker. This procedure stems from the established Rules of Golf, which allow players relief from abnormal ground conditions, such as temporary water. According to the rules, if a player's ball lies in or touches temporary water, or if the player’s stance is affected by it, they are entitled to take relief.

The player is required to drop the ball outside the bunker, and it must be placed in the nearest point of relief that is not nearer to the hole. This allows the player to avoid the difficult conditions posed by both the bunker and the water, ensuring that they can continue their round under fair and playable conditions.

Choosing to play the ball from the bunker, assessing a penalty stroke, or being restricted to dropping within the bunker would not align with the rules regarding taking relief from temporary water, which are designed to ensure fair play and protect players from unfavorable conditions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy