When a player's tee shot falls off the tee after addressing the ball, what is the ruling?

Prepare for the PGA PGM 3.0 Level 1 Knowledge Test with engaging quizzes. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions. Get insights into exam content and format. Master every subject to succeed!

When a player's tee shot falls off the tee after they have addressed the ball, the correct ruling is to replace the ball without any penalty. The act of addressing the ball signifies that the player is in position to take their shot, and if the ball inadvertently falls from the tee without being struck, it does not count as a stroke, and no penalty applies.

A player should simply replace the ball back on the tee and continue with their next shot. This ruling reflects the principle that a ball falling off the tee, in such circumstances, is part of the natural play of the game and does not penalize the player for this occurrence. Understanding this ruling is important to avoid unnecessary strokes and maintain the flow of play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy